|

First – Bachalpsee –Faulhorn – Bussalp - Grindelwald

Short facts

  • start: Bergstation First (2168 m ü. M.)
  • destination: Grindelwald Dorf (1034 m ü. M.)
  • difficult
  • 18,25 km
  • 5 hours 45 minutes
  • 542 m
  • 2675 m
  • 1028 m
  • 60 / 100
  • 80 / 100

best season

This diverse route in the First area is ideal for hiking and sledging enthusiasts.

This winter hiking or sledging tour starts with a leisurely gondola ride up to the First mountain station. Sledges can be hired at the Intersport Shop in the First mountain station. It’s a good idea to make a reservation on beautiful weekends and during peak season. For an energy boost before heading up the trail to Lake Bachalp, stop in for a bite to eat at the First mountain restaurant or Adi's Skibar.

The well-maintained winter hiking trail up to the Faulhorn takes about two and a half hours. The impressive peaks of the Wetterhorn, Scheckhorn and Finsteraarhorn rise up behind you for the entire length of the trail. Lake Bachalp, a popular summer photo spot and excursion destination, is also on the way to the Faulhorn. Once at the top, there is an all-round panoramic view of the surrounding Bernese Oberland mountains. The Faulhorn is an alpine hotel steeped in history, but it is closed in winter. The uphill climb is nevertheless worth it as it is the starting point for the longest downhill sledging run in Europe at 12.5 kilometres. The sun-drenched Bussalp is a good place to stop for some refreshment after the rapid descent. If there’s enough snow, you can ride your sledge all the way down to the village. There are also buses or you can walk back to the village.

General information

Directions

First – Bachalpsee – Faulhorn – Bussalp - Grindelwald

Safety Guidelines
  • After a snowfall, the ground can be softer and more difficult to walk on.
Equipment
  • The sun’s rays are more intense in the mountains. Don’t forget to bring sunscreen with a high protection factor, a hat and sunglasses with UV protection.
  • We recommend bringing warm clothing and rain gear even in summer and in good weather in winter. We recommend layering your clothing.
  • Charged mobile phone
  • First-aid kit
  • Winter shoes with non-slip sole
  • Drinks and snacks
  • If available: hiking sticks
Tip

The «First Cliff Walk» summit loop at the First mountain station is the perfect trail for thrill-seekers. It consists of a steel walkway alongside the cliff, a suspension bridge and an observation terrace with a spectacular view of the Eiger.

Getting there

Car: There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Journey to Grindelwald 

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Ticket purchase Jungfrau Region

Timetable and ticket purchase SBB 

Maps

Swisstopo Landeskarte 1229 Grindelwald 1:25'000

Additional Information

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

|

First – Bachalpsee –Faulhorn – Bussalp - Grindelwald

En bref

  • Lieu de départ: Bergstation First (2168 m ü. M.)
  • Destination: Grindelwald Dorf (1034 m ü. M.)
  • difficile
  • 18,25 km
  • 5 heures 45 minutes
  • 542 m
  • 2675 m
  • 1028 m
  • 60 / 100
  • 80 / 100

Meilleure période

Ce sentier diversifié dans la région du First est idéal pour les randonneurs et les fans de luge.

Ce parcours de randonnée hivernale ou de luge débute avec un paisible voyage en télécabine vers la station supérieure de First. Il est possible de louer des luges dans le magasin Intersport de la station. Une réservation est recommandée durant les weekends de beau temps et la haute saison. Avant l’ascension vers le lac de Bachalp, le restaurant de montagne du First et Adi’s Skibar représentent les dernières possibilités de ravitaillement.

Le sentier de randonnée hivernal damé mène au Faulhorn en deux heures et demie environ. Derrière vous se tiennent les impressionnants sommets du Wetterhorn, Scheckhorn et du Finsteraarhorn. Le lac de Bachalp, lieu de photos et d’excursions estivales très apprécié, se trouve également sur la route du Faulhorn. Arrivée en haut, un panorama sur le paysage de montagne environnant de l’Oberland bernois vous attend. Le Faulhorn est un hôtel de montagne chargé d’histoire qui reste cependant fermé en hiver. L’ascension n’en vaut pas moins la peine, puisque la plus longue piste de luge d’Europe suit avec ses 12,5 kilomètres. La Bussalp ensoleillée offre une possibilité de ravitaillement après la rapide descente. S’il y a assez de neige, vous pouvez luger jusqu’au village. Sinon, des bus circulent ou il est possible de s’y rendre à pied.

Informations générales

Itinéraire

First – Bachalpsee – Faulhorn – Bussalp - Grindelwald

Consignes de sécurité
Équipement
  • Le rayonnement solaire est élevé en montagne. Crème solaire avec facteur de protection élevé, chapeau et lunettes de soleil avec protection UV ne doivent pas manquer dans le sac.
  • En été comme en hiver, des vêtements chauds et un imperméable sont nécessaires. Le principe de couche avec différentes couches de vêtements est recommandé.
  • Téléphone portable chargé
  • Pharmacie de poche
  • Chaussures d’hiver avec semelles antidérapantes
  • Boissons et nourriture
  • Si disponible: bâtons télescopiques
Conseil de l'auteur

Le circuit du sommet «First Cliff Walk» à la station de montagne de First offre des sensations fortes. Il se compose d’une passerelle rocheuse, d’un pont suspendu et d’une passerelle de montée avec un point de vue spectaculaire en direction de l’Eiger.

Accès

Voiture: il existe différentes routes. Depuis Bâle et Genève, la route le plus rapide est via Berne. Depuis Zurich, il s’agit de la direction Lucerne et le col du Brünig. Le col est ouvert en été comme en hiver.

Depuis le sud, le sentier passe par le col du Grimsel ou du Susten pour rejoindre la région. Les deux cols sont uniquement ouverts en été. Alternativement, il est possible d’emprunter le col du Simplon ou le transport autos du Lötschberg.

Arrivée à Grindelwald 

Parking

À Grindelwald, deux parkings publics couverts sont à disposition: parking Eiger+ (252 places) ou parking du centre sportif (160 places). Il n’est pas possible de réserver au préalable. Des places non couvertes sont disponibles dans tout le village.

Transport en commun

Bénéficiant d’une situation centrale en Europe, la Suisse est desservie par douze lignes ferroviaires internationales. Il est possible de voyager en trains Intercity, directement de Bâle et Lucerne vers la Région de la Jungfrau. En provenance de Zürich, les passagers doivent changer de train à Berne. Les trains partent toutes les demi-heures.

Achat de billets Jungfrau Region

Horaires et achat de billets CFF 

Plans

Swisstopo Landeskarte 1229 Grindelwald 1:25'000

Plus d'informations

Météo

Que voulez-vous faire ensuite?
Télécharger GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.