|

Grindelwald Trail 21

Short facts

  • start: Grindelwald sports centre
  • destination: Grindelwald sports centre
  • medium
  • 21,05 km
  • 4 hours 38 minutes
  • 1434 m
  • 2326 m
  • 1036 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 60 / 100

best season

A trail rich in adventure with impressive panoramic views, plenty of eateries and the option to return to the valley via the First cableway.

This beautiful 21.9km trail has a height gain of 1625m and is recommended from May to October. The trail starts in Grindelwald village with a short climb to Aellfluh where you’ll be rewarded with a wonderful view of the valley before continuing to the Berggasthaus at Waldspitz with its cosy interior and lovely sun terrace. From here, the trail rises steadily up to the picturesque Bachalpsee, passing along the lake on its way around to First. If you like a little adventure, there are ‘Mountain Carts’ to rent at First station which promise a slightly more rapid descent to Bort, where you can then hop on a Trottibike to cruise the last stretch to the valley floor. Another alternative is descending via cableway from First station.

General information

Directions

Village – Aellfluh – Niederbach – Waldspitz – Spitzen – Bachalpsee – First - village

Safety Guidelines
  • Caution advised during thunderstorms
  • Mind snow patches in spring
Equipment
  • First Aid Kit
  • Weather-appropriate clothing (always carry waterproofs)
  • Drink/food provisions
  • Mobile phone
Tip
Getting there

There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Maps
  • Trail Running map Grindelwald
Additional Information

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

|

Grindelwald Trail 21

En bref

  • Lieu de départ: Centre sportif de Grindelwald
  • Destination: Centre sportif de Grindelwald
  • moyen
  • 21,05 km
  • 4 heures 38 minutes
  • 1434 m
  • 2326 m
  • 1036 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 60 / 100

Meilleure période

Parcours très varié avec un panorama impressionnant et beaucoup de buvettes. Option de rentrer en télécabines de First.

Beau trail commençant au village de Grindelwald et montant raide à Aellfluh. La récompense est la vue grandiose sur la vallée. De là, aller en direction du restaurant Waldspitz avec sa belle terrasse ensoleillée pour continuer sur le Bachalpsee et ensuite sur First. Ceux qui désirent terminer leur entraînement ici, ils ont différentes options: A la station des télécabines, on peut louer des ‘Mountain Carts’ qui promettent une descente rapide à la station intermédiaire. A Bort, les trottinettes tout terrain sont prêtes à prendre pour le dernier tronçon jusqu’en vallée. Ceux qui préfèrent peuvent descendre en télécabines. Le beau trajet de 21,9 km et un dénivelé de 1625 mètres est idéal de mai à octobre. Attention: au printemps, il peut y avoir des champs de neige. 

Informations générales

Itinéraire

Village – Aellfluh – Niederbach – Waldspitz – Spitzen – Bachalpsee – First – village       

Consignes de sécurité
  • Attention lors d’orages
  • Champs de neige éventuels au printemps       
Équipement
  • Trousse de permiers secours
  • Habits adaptés au temps (imperméable indispensable)
  • Boisson et ravitaillement
  • Portable
Conseil de l'auteur
Accès

En voiture, vous pouvez choisir entre différents itinéraires. Depuis Bâle et Genève, la route le plus rapide est via Berne. Depuis Zurich, il s’agit de la direction Lucerne et le col du Brünig. Le col est ouvert en été comme en hiver.

Depuis le sud, le sentier passe par le col du Grimsel ou du Susten pour rejoindre la région. Les deux cols sont uniquement ouverts en été. Alternativement, il est possible d’emprunter le col du Simplon ou le transport autos du Lötschberg.

Parking

À Grindelwald, deux parkings publics couverts sont à disposition: parking Eiger+ (252 places) ou parking du centre sportif (160 places). Il n’est pas possible de réserver au préalable. Des places non couvertes sont disponibles dans tout le village.

Transport en commun

Bénéficiant d’une situation centrale en Europe, la Suisse est desservie par douze lignes ferroviaires internationales. Il est possible de voyager en trains Intercity, directement de Bâle et Lucerne vers la Région de la Jungfrau. En provenance de Zürich, les passagers doivent changer de train à Berne. Les trains partent toutes les demi-heures.

Plans
  • Carte Trail Running Grindelwald
Plus d'informations

Météo

Que voulez-vous faire ensuite?
Télécharger GPX