|

Grindelwald Trail 31

Short facts

  • start: Grindelwald sports centre
  • destination: Grindelwald sports centre
  • difficult
  • 30,18 km
  • 6 hours 31 minutes
  • 1938 m
  • 2342 m
  • 894 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 80 / 100

best season

A sporty trail route with a long ascent to Männlichen.

This trail follows the Eiger Ultra Trail routes E101 and E35 which wind their wicked way up from Burglauenen to Wengen and finally Männlichen. Already upon reaching Wengen, the snowy peaks of the Jungfrau massif loom into view and the seemingly relentless Gemsweg releases you onto the Männlichen ridge. From here you have the option to take the cableway down to the village or to descend on foot to the mid-station Holenstein and catch it from there. Continuing on foot, the pleasantly undulating Öpfelchüechliweg trail rewards you with its famous homemade offerings of the best Öpfelchuechli apple fritters in the world at the Brandegg restaurant. Energy restored, the last short leg brings you to the valley floor!

General information

Directions

Village – Burglauenen – Wengen – Männlichen – Holenstein – Brandegg – Grund - village

Safety Guidelines
  • Danger of overflowing waterways in heavy rainfall
  • snow patches in spring
  • Caution advised in thunderstorms
Equipment
  • First Aid Kit
  • Weather-appropriate clothing (always carry waterproofs)
  • Drink/food provisions
  • Mobile phone
Tip
Getting there

There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Maps
  • Trail Running map Grindelwald
Additional Information

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

|

Grindelwald Trail 31

En bref

  • Lieu de départ: Centre sportif de Grindelwald
  • Destination: Centre sportif de Grindelwald
  • difficile
  • 30,18 km
  • 6 heures 31 minutes
  • 1938 m
  • 2342 m
  • 894 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 80 / 100

Meilleure période

Parcours sportif avec une longue montée sur le Männlichen.

Le parcours correspond à celui de l’Eiger Ultra E101 et E51, commençant à Burglauenen avec une montée à Wengen et une autre à Männlichen. Une fois à Wengen, la vue sur le massif de la Jungfrau recouvert de neige se dévoile, le sentier en serpentines, nommé Gemsweg (sentier des chamoix), débute et va jusqu’au Männlichen. Il y a l’option de prendre les télécabines jusqu’à Holenstein ou de Holenstein à Grindelwald. Ceux qui désirent descendre à pied peuvent suivre le sentier des beignets – ’Öpfelchüechliweg  – jusqu’à Brandegg. Il se murmure que le restaurant Brandegg sert les meilleurs beignets du monde. Terminer fortifié le parcours jusqu’à Grindelwald Grund.       

Informations générales

Itinéraire

Village – Burglauenen – Wengen - Männlichen - Holenstein – Brandegg – Grund – village

Consignes de sécurité
  • Faire attention aux ruisseaux après de fortes précipitations, aux champs de neige au printemps, aux orages
Équipement
  • Trousse de permiers secours
  • Habits adaptés au temps (imperméable indispensable)
  • Boisson et ravitaillement
  • Portable
Conseil de l'auteur
Accès

En voiture, vous pouvez choisir entre différents itinéraires. Depuis Bâle et Genève, la route le plus rapide est via Berne. Depuis Zurich, il s’agit de la direction Lucerne et le col du Brünig. Le col est ouvert en été comme en hiver.

Depuis le sud, le sentier passe par le col du Grimsel ou du Susten pour rejoindre la région. Les deux cols sont uniquement ouverts en été. Alternativement, il est possible d’emprunter le col du Simplon ou le transport autos du Lötschberg.

Parking

À Grindelwald, deux parkings publics couverts sont à disposition: parking Eiger+ (252 places) ou parking du centre sportif (160 places). Il n’est pas possible de réserver au préalable. Des places non couvertes sont disponibles dans tout le village.

Transport en commun

Bénéficiant d’une situation centrale en Europe, la Suisse est desservie par douze lignes ferroviaires internationales. Il est possible de voyager en trains Intercity, directement de Bâle et Lucerne vers la Région de la Jungfrau. En provenance de Zürich, les passagers doivent changer de train à Berne. Les trains partent toutes les demi-heures.

Plans
  • Carte Trail Running Grindelwald
Plus d'informations

Météo

Que voulez-vous faire ensuite?
Télécharger GPX