|

Grosse Scheidegg

Short facts

  • start: Grindelwald
  • destination: Grosse Scheidegg
  • medium
  • 30,26 km
  • 2 hours 17 minutes
  • 969 m
  • 1963 m
  • 595 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 60 / 100

best season

The Grosse Scheidegg connects two villages. On the Grindelwald side, the pass road winds its way up and you have to pedal a lot - you will be rewarded with a ride through the wonderful Reichenbach valley as far as Meiringen.

The tour starts in Grindelwald, the world-famous village at the foot of the Eiger mountain. At the outskirts of the village, the ascent begins, leading quickly up to the first hills with a view of the broad expanse of the valley. The relatively straight road, which is closed to private traffic (only a small number of PostBuses operate on the road), goes to Grosse Scheidegg with a brief view of the Eiger North Face.

The strenuous climb is rewarded at the highest point of the tour with a stunning view of the magnificent Wetterhorn peak. The descent follows the Rychen Stream through the Rosenlaui Valley. Soon the majestic Engelshörner mountains rise up on the right and a stop at the Rosenlaui Glacier Gorge is highly recommended. From here the route largely follows a straight line to the Reichenbach Waterfall. Cool off from the ride in the splashing spray of the thunderous falls – where Sherlock Holmes once fought with his archenemy. The route snakes its way down the steep mountain at high speed. Challenging twists and turns and car traffic starting at Schwarzwaldalp make caution essential. At Schattenhalb the route leads out of the partly wooded final section and crosses the Aare River which originates nearby on the way to the centre of Meiringen.

You can hop on the PostBus line anywhere along the route.

 

General information

Directions

Grindelwald - Grosse Scheidegg - Schwarzwaldalp - Rosenlaui - Meiringen 

Safety Guidelines
  • Know road rules / mind other road users
  • Test function of the bike before departure
  • Always wear a helmet, gloves and protectors recommended
  • Know route (navigation)
  • Check weather and traffic info
  • Drink enough & keep energy stores filled
  • Have your own fitness and regeneration under control
  • Pay attention to hikers, animals, objects etc. near the road
Equipment
  • Well maintained bike
  • Helmet, gloves, protectors
  • Bicycle bell and functional lighting
  • Repair kit
  • First aid kit
  • Mobile phone for emergencies
  • Clothing adapted to the weather (always take with you: rain protection)
  • Drink and snacks
Tip

Stop at the Schwarzwaldalp: A delicious lunch on the terrace of the Chalet-Hotel Schwarzwaldalp is worthwhile. By the way, you can also spend an idyllic night here. Below Schwarzwaldalp is the Rosenlaui Glacier Gorge. Wonderful cooling at high temperatures.

Getting there

By car there are different ways to get there. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Bern. From Zurich, the fastest route is towards Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

Coming from the south, you can reach the region via the Grimsel or Susten Pass. The two passes are only open in summer. The Simplon Pass and then the Lötschberg car transport are alternatives.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

If you want to start further up: Drive through the village to the Hotel Wetterhorn/Oberer Gletscher and park on the paid parking lot.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Additional Information

Pavings

  • Street (98%)
  • Hiking Trail (2%)

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

|

Grosse Scheidegg

En bref

  • Lieu de départ: Grindelwald
  • Destination: Meiringen
  • moyen
  • 30,26 km
  • 2 heures 17 minutes
  • 969 m
  • 1963 m
  • 595 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 60 / 100

Meilleure période

La Grosse Scheidegg relie deux villages. Du côté de Grindelwald, la route du col serpente et vous devez pédaler beaucoup - vous serez récompensé par une promenade dans la magnifique vallée du Reichenbach jusqu'à Meiringen.

Le point de départ du circuit est Grindelwald, le fameaux village au pied de l’Eiger. L'itinéraire monte déjà à la sortie du village et mène rapidement aux premières collines, qui offrent une vue d'ensemble de la large vallée. La route fermée au trafic privé n'a que peu de virages (seuls les CarPostal circulent), mène à la Grosse Scheidegg avec une magnifique vue sur la face nord de l’Eiger.

Au point culminant du circuit, la vue impressionnante sur le Wetterhorn est un point de départ idéal pour l’ascension. Le long du Rychenbach s’ensuit la descente à travers la Vallée de Rosenlaui. Bientôt les imposantes Engelshörner s’élèvent sur le côté droit et c’est l’occasion de faire une pause aux gorges de Rosenlaui. De là, le chemin mène principalement vers les chutes du Reichenbach. Ceux qui luttent contre le chaud pourront se rafraichir sous les éclaboussures des chutes grondantes, là où Sherlock Holmes a affronté son ennemi juré. Le chemin descend le long de la montagne en serpentin, donnant rapidement de la vitesse. Les virages ardus et le trafic en provenance de Schwarzwaldalp requièrent de la prudence. À Schattenhalb, le chemin mène jusqu'au bout du tronçon final partiellement boisé et sur la route vers le centre du village de Meiringen, il faut encore traverser l’Aar naissante non loin de là.

Une connexion à la ligne CarPostal est assurée tout au long du parcours. 

Informations générales

Itinéraire

Grindelwald - Grosse Scheidegg - Schwarzwaldalp - Rosenlaui - Meiringen 

Consignes de sécurité
  • Connaître le code de la route / observer les autres usagers de la route
  • Test de fonctionnement du vélo avant le départ
  • Portez toujours un casque, gants et protecteurs supplémentaires recommandés
  • Connaître l'itinéraire (navigation)
  • Vérifier la météo et les informations routières
  • Buvez suffisamment et gardez vos réserves d'énergie pleines
  • Avoir sa propre forme physique et sa propre régénération sous contrôle
  • Faites attention aux randonneurs, animaux, objets, etc. près de la route
Équipement
  • Vélo parfaitement entretenu techniquement
  • Casque, gants, protecteurs
  • Cloche de bicyclette et éclairage fonctionnel
  • Kit de réparation
  • Trousse de premiers secours
  • Téléphone portable pour les urgences
  • Vêtements adaptés aux conditions climatiques (toujours avec : protection contre la pluie)
  • Boissons et restauration
Conseil de l'auteur

Arrêt au Schwarzwaldalp : Un délicieux déjeuner sur la terrasse du Chalet-Hôtel Schwarzwaldalp en vaut la peine. D'ailleurs, vous pouvez aussi y passer une nuit idyllique. Sous le Schwarzwaldalp se trouve la gorge du glacier de Rosenlaui. Excellent refroidissement à haute température.

Accès

En voiture, vous pouvez choisir entre différents itinéraires. Depuis Bâle et Genève, la route le plus rapide est via Berne. Depuis Zurich, il s’agit de la direction Lucerne et le col du Brünig. Le col est ouvert en été comme en hiver.

Depuis le sud, le sentier passe par le col du Grimsel ou du Susten pour rejoindre la région. Les deux cols sont uniquement ouverts en été. Alternativement, il est possible d’emprunter le col du Simplon ou le transport autos du Lötschberg.

Parking

À Grindelwald, deux parkings publics couverts sont à disposition: parking Eiger+ (252 places) ou parking du centre sportif (160 places). Il n’est pas possible de réserver au préalable. Des places non couvertes sont disponibles dans tout le village.

Si vous voulez commencer plus haut : Continuez à travers le village jusqu'à l'hôtel Wetterhorn/Oberer Gletscher et garez-vous sur le parking payant.

Transport en commun

Bénéficiant d’une situation centrale en Europe, la Suisse est desservie par douze lignes ferroviaires internationales. Il est possible de voyager en trains Intercity, directement de Bâle et Lucerne vers la Région de la Jungfrau. En provenance de Zürich, les passagers doivent changer de train à Berne. Les trains partent toutes les demi-heures.

Plus d'informations

Revêtement routier

  • Route (98%)
  • Wanderweg (2%)

Météo

Que voulez-vous faire ensuite?
Télécharger GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.