|

Trailsummit Rotstock T5

Short facts

  • start: Grindelwald sports centre
  • destination: Rotstock
  • difficult
  • 13,14 km
  • 3 hours 29 minutes
  • 1802 m
  • 2663 m
  • 977 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 80 / 100

best season

The Rotstock summit trail can also be reached by Via ferrata, with the appropriate safety equipment.

The 12.5km trail begins in the village, though it’s possible to shorten it by taking the train from Grindelwald to Eigergletscher and following the trail from there. For the more adventurous, the Rotstock can also be climbed by means of a via ferrata on the north side - providing that you are equipped with good shoes, a via ferrata set, harness, helmet and protective gloves. The trail has some quite exposed sections and is only recommended for experienced mountain walkers equipped with the appropriate gear. The trail is accessible from June to October in good, stable weather conditions.

General information

Directions

Village - Rotstock

Safety Guidelines
  • Danger of overflowing waterways in heavy rainfall
  • Mind snow patches present in spring
  • Caution advised in thunderstorms
  • Some exposed sections, good footwork required
Equipment
  • First Aid Kit
  • Weather-appropriate clothing (always carry waterproofs)
  • Drink/food provisions
  • Mobile phone
Tip
Getting there

There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Maps
  • Trail Running map Grindelwald
Additional Information

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

|

Trailsummit Rotstock T5

En bref

  • Lieu de départ: Centre sportif de Grindelwald
  • Destination: Rotstock
  • difficile
  • 13,14 km
  • 3 heures 29 minutes
  • 1802 m
  • 2663 m
  • 977 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 80 / 100

Meilleure période

Trail des sommets sur le Rotstock qui peut être atteint par la via ferrata avec l’équipement adéquat.

Le début se fait à Grindelwald. Ceux qui désirent raccourcir le trail ayant une longueur de 12,5 km et une montée de 1872 mètres de dénivelé peuvent prendre le train jusqu’à Eigergletscher et débuter là-haut. Les aventuriers ont la possibilité de grimper au Rotstock par la via ferrata. Dans ce cas-là, des bonnes chaussures, un set d’escalade, un casque et des gants sont indispensables. Le trail a des parties exposées et il est ainsi seulement à recommander aux habitués de la montagne avec un équipement adéquat. Il est praticable de juin à octobre lors de beau temps assuré.               

Informations générales

Itinéraire

Village – Rotstock          

Consignes de sécurité
  • Faire attention aux ruisseaux lors de fortes précipitations, aux champs de neige au printemps, aux orages; parties exposées           
Équipement
  • Trousse de permiers secours
  • Habits adaptés au temps (imperméable indispensable)
  • Boisson et ravitaillement
  • Portable
Conseil de l'auteur
Accès

En voiture, vous pouvez choisir entre différents itinéraires. Depuis Bâle et Genève, la route le plus rapide est via Berne. Depuis Zurich, il s’agit de la direction Lucerne et le col du Brünig. Le col est ouvert en été comme en hiver.

Depuis le sud, le sentier passe par le col du Grimsel ou du Susten pour rejoindre la région. Les deux cols sont uniquement ouverts en été. Alternativement, il est possible d’emprunter le col du Simplon ou le transport autos du Lötschberg.

Parking

À Grindelwald, deux parkings publics couverts sont à disposition: parking Eiger+ (252 places) ou parking du centre sportif (160 places). Il n’est pas possible de réserver au préalable. Des places non couvertes sont disponibles dans tout le village.

Transport en commun

Bénéficiant d’une situation centrale en Europe, la Suisse est desservie par douze lignes ferroviaires internationales. Il est possible de voyager en trains Intercity, directement de Bâle et Lucerne vers la Région de la Jungfrau. En provenance de Zürich, les passagers doivent changer de train à Berne. Les trains partent toutes les demi-heures.

Plans
  • Trail Running map Grindelwald
Plus d'informations

Météo

Que voulez-vous faire ensuite?
Télécharger GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.