|

Bussalp - Holzmatten - Rasthysi - Lochsteinen (Nr. 57)

Short facts

  • start: Bussalp
  • destination: Busstation Lochsteinen
  • easy
  • 4,48 km
  • 1 hour 15 minutes
  • 24 m
  • 1801 m
  • 1425 m
  • 80 / 100
  • 10 / 100

best season

High-altitude trail with view of snowy mountain peaks

The sunny Bussalp is the starting point of this pleasant winter hike. Daily bus services run from the Grindelwald train station up to Bussalp. From there, follow the marked trail that runs parallel to the road downhill to the Holzmattenläger. The hike gently meanders up and down, over open meadows and through forests to reach Rasthysi.

Treat yourself to a short break in the cosy pub «Rasthysi» and re-energise with a traditional meal and a delicious cup of coffee.

Reinvigorated and warmed up, continue your descent to the Lochsteinen bus stop, where you can take the bus back to Grindelwald. If you’d rather not take the bus, you can hike to the village. Enjoy the magnificent view of the snow-covered mountain peaks of the Jungfrau Region from start to finish.

General information

Directions

Bussalp - Holzmatten - Rasthysi - Lochsteinen

Safety Guidelines

After a snowfall, the ground can be softer and more difficult to walk on.

Equipment
  •  The sun’s rays are more intense in the mountains. Don’t forget to bring sunscreen with a high protection factor, a hat and sunglasses with UV protection.
  • Charged mobile phone
  • First-aid kit
  • Winter shoes with non-slip sole
  • Drinks and snacks
  • If available: hiking sticks
Tip

For those who prefer speed, the route can also be covered by sledge.

Getting there

Car: There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Additional Information

Weather

This tour is presented by: Jungfrau Region Tourismus AG

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

|

Bussalp-Holzmatten-Rasthysi-Lochsteinen (Nr. 57)

Auf einen Blick

  • Start: Bussalp
  • Ziel: Bussalp Lochsteinen
  • leicht
  • 4,48 km
  • 1 Std. 15 Min.
  • 24 m
  • 1801 m
  • 1425 m
  • 80 / 100
  • 10 / 100

Beste Jahreszeit

Höhenweg mit Blick auf verschneite Berggipfel

Die sonnenreiche Bussalp ist der Ausgangspunkt dieser gemütlichen Winterwanderung. Täglich fahren Busse ab Grindelwald Bahnhof hoch zur Bussalp. Dort angekommen folgen Sie dem markierten Weg der parallel zur Strasse läuft abwärts bis zum Holzmattenläger. Danach führt die Wanderung in leichtem Auf und Ab über offenes Weideland und durch Waldgebiet zum Rasthysi. Gönnen Sie sich im gemütlichen Beizli „Rasthysi“ eine kleine Pause und stärken Sie sich mit einem typischen Gericht und einem leckeren Kaffee.

Frisch gestärkt und aufgewärmt geht es weiter abwärts bis zur Bushaltestelle Lochsteinen, von wo Sie den Bus zurück nach Grindelwald nehmen können. Wer auf den Bus verzichten möchte, kann die Wanderung bis ins Dorf fortsetzten. Geniessen Sie während der ganzen Wanderung den herrlichen Blick auf die verschneiten Berggipfel der Jungfrauregion.

Allgemeine Informationen

Wegbeschreibung

Bussalp - Holzmatten - Rasthysi - Lochsteinen

Sicherheitshinweise

Bergwander-Check
Nach Schneefällen kann der Untergrund weich und schwieriger zum Laufen sein.

Ausrüstung
  • Die Sonneneinstrahlung ist in den Bergen erhöht. Sonnencreme mit hohem Schutzfaktor, Sonnenhut und Sonnenbrille mit UV-Schutz gehören auf jeden Fall ins Gepäck.
  • Aufgeladenes Mobiltelefon
  • Taschenapotheke
  • Winterschuhe mit rutschfester Sohle
  • Getränke und Verpflegung
  • Falls vorhanden: Teleskopstöcke
Tipp des Autors

Wer es lieber rasant mag, kann die Strecke auch mit dem Schlitten bewältigen.

Anfahrt

Mit dem Auto sind verschieden Anfahrtsmöglichkeiten vorhanden. Ab Basel und Genf führt der schnellste Weg über Bern. Ab Zürich ist die Fahrt Richtung Luzern und Brünigpass am raschesten. Der Pass ist Sommer und Winter offen.

Von Süden führt die Anreise via Grimsel- oder Sustenpass in die Region. Die beiden Pässe sind nur im Sommer offen. Als Alternative steht der Simplonpass und anschliessend Lötschberg-Autoverlad zur Auswahl.

Parken

In Grindelwald stehen zwei öffentliche Parkhäuser mit gedeckten Plätzen zur Auswahl: Parkhaus Eiger+ (252 Parkplätze) und Parkhaus Sportzentrum (160 Parkplätze). Ungedeckte Parkplätze sind im gesamten Dorf vorhanden.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Dank der zentralen Lage in Europa wird die Schweiz von über 12 Ländern mit Internationalen Zügen bedient. Innerhalb der Schweiz fahren Intercity-Züge von Basel und Luzern direkt in die Jungfrau Region. Reisende ab Zürich steigen in Bern um. Die Züge verkehren im Halbstundentakt. 

 

Weitere Informationen

Wetter

Diese Tour wird präsentiert von: Jungfrau Region Tourismus AG

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?
GPX herunterladen

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.