|

Schynige Platte - Männdlenen - Faulhorn - First

Short facts

  • start: Schynige Platte, summit station
  • destination: First, summit station
  • medium
  • 15,96 km
  • 6 hours
  • 832 m
  • 2681 m
  • 1911 m
  • 100 / 100
  • 60 / 100

best season

High altitude hike to the oldest mountain hotel in Europe

Incomparable walk at an altitude above the tree line. The snow-capped Alpine peaks form a wonderful contrast with the green valleys of the Lütschine and Aare rivers. Also worth mentioning are the Alpine Gardens on the Schynige Platte with over 500 local varieties of Alpine flowers, the two-hour panoramic loop trail affording fabulous views down to the lakes Brienz and Thun, the Alpine lakes Sägistal and Bachalp which are so different in their nature, at 170 years Europe's oldest mountain hotel Faulhorn, and finally also the overwhelming views of Grindelwald's mountains from First. Entirely natural footpath, partly in rock and over scree.


General information

Directions

Schynige Platte - Oberberg - Louchera - Güwtürli - Egg - Männdlenen - Faulhorn - Bachsee - First

Safety Guidelines
Equipment
  • hiking daypack (approx. 20 liters) with rain cover

  • comfortable and sturdy footwear

  • adequate and durable outdoor clothing in multiple layers

  • sun and rain protection

  • snacks and drinking water

  • first aid kit

  • penknife

  • mobile phone

  • if necesessary: telescope sticks, headlight, maps

Tip
Getting there

There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Maps
Additional Information

Weather

This tour is presented by: Jungfrau Region Tourismus AG

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

|

Schynige Platte - Männdlenen - Faulhorn - First

Auf einen Blick

  • Start: Bergstation Schynige Platte
  • Ziel: Bergstation First, Grindelwald
  • schwer
  • 15,96 km
  • 5 Std. 45 Min.
  • 832 m
  • 2681 m
  • 1911 m
  • 80 / 100
  • 80 / 100

Beste Jahreszeit

Klassischer Höhenwanderung zum ältesten Berghotel Europas.

Unvergleichliche Höhenwanderung oberhalb der Baumgrenze. Herrlich kontrastiert der firngleissende Alpenkranz mit den grünen Tälern der Lütschine und der Aare. Erwähnung verdienen aber auch der Alpengarten Schynige Platte mit seinen über 500 heimischen Alpenblumenarten, der knapp zweistündige Panorama-Rundweg, der prächtige Tiefblicke auf Thuner- und Brienzersee vermittelt, die in ihrem Charakter so verschiedenen Bergseelein Sägistal- und Bachalpsee, das bald 170-jährige und damit älteste Berghotel Europas auf dem Faulhorn und schliesslich der überwältigende Ausblick zu den Grindelwaldner Bergen von der First aus. Ausschliesslich Naturweg, teilweise im Fels und durch Geröllfelder.

Allgemeine Informationen

Wegbeschreibung

Schynige Platte - Oberberg - Louchera - Güwtürli - Egg - Männdlenen - Faulhorn - Bachsee - First

Sicherheitshinweise
Ausrüstung
  • Die Sonneneinstrahlung ist in den Bergen erhöht. Sonnencreme mit hohem Schutzfaktor, Sonnenhut und Sonnenbrille mit UV-Schutz gehören auf jeden Fall ins Gepäck.
  • Ebenfalls  im Sommer und bei schönem «Startwetter» muss warme Kleidung und einen Regenschutz dabei sein. Empfehlenswert ist das Schichtprinzip mit verschiedenen Lagen von Kleidern.
  • Aufgeladenes Mobiltelefon
  • Taschenapotheke
Tipp des Autors
  • Übernachtung auf der Schynige Platte oder im Berghotel Faulhorn
Anfahrt

PW Mit dem Auto sind verschieden Anfahrtsmöglichkeiten vorhanden. Ab Basel und Genf führt der schnellste Weg über Bern. Ab Zürich ist die Fahrt Richtung Luzern und Brünigpass am raschesten. Der Pass ist Sommer und Winter offen.

Von Süden führt die Anreise via Grimsel- oder Sustenpass in die Region. Die beiden Pässe sind nur im Sommer offen. Als Alternative steht der Simplonpass und anschliessend Lötschberg-Autoverlad zur Auswahl.

Anreise nach Grindelwald 

Anreise nach Wilderswil

Parken

In Wilderswil sind beim Bahnhof kostenpflichtige Parkpläte vorhanden.

In Grindelwald stehen zwei öffentliche Parkhäuser mit gedeckten Plätzen zur Auswahl: Parkhaus Eiger+ (252 Parkplätze) und Parkhaus Sportzentrum (160 Parkplätze). Ungedeckte Parkplätze sind im gesamten Dorf vorhanden.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Dank der zentralen Lage in Europa wird die Schweiz von über 12 Ländern mit Internationalen Zügen bedient. Innerhalb der Schweiz fahren Intercity-Züge von Basel und Luzern direkt in die Jungfrau Region. Reisende ab Zürich steigen in Bern um. Die Züge verkehren im Halbstundentakt.

Ticketkauf Jungfrau Region 

Ticketkauf und Fahrplan SBB 

Karten
Weitere Informationen

Wetter

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?
GPX herunterladen