|

Uphilltrail Männlichen U2

Short facts

  • start: Grindelwald Grund station
  • destination: Männlichen mountain station
  • medium
  • 9,38 km
  • 2 hours 29 minutes
  • 1284 m
  • 2224 m
  • 940 m
  • 80 / 100
  • 40 / 100

best season

This route is the toughest climb in Grindelwald, gaining 1290m altitude over 9.2km.

An intense uphill trail which starts in Grindelwald Grund and heads up directly to the Männlichen ridge where a well-deserved rest can be enjoyed on the large sun terrace of the Bergrestaurant. A cableway ride from there brings you either back to Grund, or to Wengen. Car parking is plentiful in Grund, and regular buses and trains pass through en route to Grindelwald village centre.

General information

Directions

Grund - Männlichen

Safety Guidelines
  • No specific advice
Equipment
  • First Aid Kit
  • Weather-appropriate clothing (always carry waterproofs)
  • Drink/food provisions
  • Mobile phone
Tip
Getting there

There are different ways to reach the region by car. The fastest way from Basel and Geneva is via Berne. The fastest route from Zurich is through Lucerne and the Brünig Pass. The pass is open in summer and winter.

From the south, the route goes over the Grimsel or Susten Pass into the region. Both passes are only open in summer. Alternatively, you can take the Simplon Pass and then Lötschberg car transport.

Parking

Grindelwald has public car parks with covered parking spaces: Eiger+ car park (252 parking spaces) and Sportzentrum car park (160 parking spaces). They cannot be reserved in advance. Uncovered parking spaces are available everywhere in the village.

Public transit

Thanks to its central location in Europe, Switzerland is served by international trains from over 12 countries. Within Switzerland, Intercity trains run directly from Basel and Lucerne to the Jungfrau Region. Travellers from Zurich have to change in Berne. The trains run every half hour.

Maps
  • Trail Running map Grindelwald
Additional Information

Weather

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

|

Uphilltrail Männlichen U2

Auf einen Blick

  • Start: Grindelwald Grund Bahnhof
  • Ziel: Bergstation Männlichen
  • mittel
  • 9,38 km
  • 2 Std. 29 Min.
  • 1284 m
  • 2224 m
  • 940 m
  • 80 / 100
  • 40 / 100

Beste Jahreszeit

Mit 1290 Höhenmetern und einer Länge von 9.2 Kilometern der härteste Uphill in Grindelwald.

Intensiver Uphill Trail, der bei Grindelwald Grund startet und direkt auf den Männlichen führt. Wer mit dem Auto kommt, kann auf dem grossen Parkplatz parkieren. Von Grindelwald Bahnhof fahren regelmässig Züge und Busse zur Grund Station. Im Bergrestaurant Männlichen kann auf der Sonnenterrasse eine Pause eingelegt werden, bevor es mit der Gondel zurück nach Grindelwald oder Wengen geht.

Allgemeine Informationen

Wegbeschreibung

Grund - Männlichen

Sicherheitshinweise
  • Keine speziellen Hinweise
Ausrüstung
  • Erste-Hilfe-Set
  • Dem Wetter angepasste Kleidung (immer dabei: Regenschutz)
  • Getränk und Verpflegung
  • Handy
Tipp des Autors
Anfahrt

Mit dem Auto sind verschiedene Anfahrtswege möglich. Ab Basel und Genf führt der schnellste Weg über Bern. Ab Zürich ist die Fahrt Richtung Luzern und Brünigpass am raschesten. Der Pass ist Sommer und Winter offen.

Von Süden führt die Anreise via Grimsel- oder Sustenpass in die Region. Die beiden Pässe sind nur im Sommer offen. Als Alternative stehen der Simplonpass und anschliessend der Lötschberg Autoverlad zur Auswahl.

Parken

Im Dorf Grindelwald zwei öffentliche Parkhäuser mit gedeckten Plätzen zur Auswahl: Parkhaus Eiger+ (252 Parkplätze) und Parkhaus Sportzentrum (160 Parkplätze). Diese können im Vorfeld nicht reserviert werden. Weitere ungedeckte Parkplätze sind im gesamten Dorf vorhanden.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Dank der zentralen Lage in Europa wird die Schweiz von über 12 Ländern mit Internationalen Zügen bedient. Innerhalb der Schweiz fahren Intercity-Züge von Basel und Luzern direkt in die Jungfrau Region. Reisende ab Zürich steigen in Bern um. Die Züge verkehren im Halbstundentakt.

Karten
  • Trail Running Karte Grindelwald
Weitere Informationen

Wetter

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?
GPX herunterladen